10 Small Changes to Help Weight Loss

Here are 10 simple changes that had a big impact on my weight loss.

  1. Drink more water. The easiest way to add more water to your daily routine is to have it available. I carry at water bottle with me everywhere. At work I always have ice water at my desk. I don’t bring pop or juice with me to work or when I go out. If all you have available is water, you will drink more water. When I wake up I drink a full glass of water with my thyroid medication. I also try to drink a full bottle or glass of water before each meal.
  2. Add Lemon to your water. Lemons are not only a great source of vitamins and other healthy factors, but they cleanse the body as well. I have a 1 liter water pitcher that I squeeze 2-3 lemons into daily. I drink it cold while I’m at work. Not only does this curb my appetite but it also makes me feel all around better. Must be the cleansing!
  3. Add more steps into your day. Instead of parking in the closest space at the grocery store or mall, park as far out as you can. Get some extra steps in. If your gym is close, like mine, walk to the gym. This one seems a little silly but I do it often. If you have stairs in your house take 10 min and go up and down the stairs. This will get your heart rate elevated and its a good leg and butt work out.  Also, skip the elevator or escalator whenever possible. 🙂
  4. Add more veggies and fruits to your diet. When you go out to eat get a salad instead of fries. When you’re eating at home try to get at least 1 fruit or veggie with each meal. Doesn’t have to be a large portion either. Start small and work your way up.
  5. Eat more protein. Chicken, beef, turkey, pork, or fish. Try to get a serving of protein at every meal. Canned tuna and chicken are my go-to for easy protein filled meals.20187501_10104511126967360_1929083023_n
  6. Workout while you watch TV. Lately I’ve caught myself binge watching a few shows on Netflix. Rather than just sit and watch I make it a game. At the end of every episode I get some cardio in. 10 push-ups, 10 sit-ups, 10 jumping jacks, and 10 squats. It only takes a few minuets to do and you will get a great workout even with the down time between.
  7. Drop the pop. This may not seem like a small change but once you get past the first week or so it becomes so easy to say no to pop. I work a job that requires me to work overnights. I thought I wouldn’t be able to quit pop. I was wrong, it was actually pretty easy. I started first by skipping pop when I went out to eat or when I was in the car. I only allowed myself 1 pop at work. Then I started to only allow 1 pop every other shift at work. Eventually I only brought ice water to work and didn’t buy pop at the grocery store. Slowly I ditched the pop.
  8. Keep your purse in the trunk. Sounds really lame but it totally works. I used to be a big fast-food lover. It was “easier” to just hit the drive through. Then I saw someone post the idea about keeping your purse in your trunk. That way when the need to stop and get fast food comes up you won’t stop because your purse isn’t with you. At first I didn’t think this would work but it totally did. No shame, I was too lazy to get out and get it!! Especially in the winter, Iowa is COLD.
  9. Skip the bread and Chips. When I go out to eat if there is bread before a meal or chips and salsa I ask the waiter not to bring them. When I first started my weight loss journey this was a big deal as I had not mastered self control. Now that I can better recognize when I’m full and I know portions, I allow the chips and salsa because I can stop. It’s hard at first but until you have self control over your eating, just say no to the extras.
  10. Make a list and stick to it at the grocery store. Before I started getting healthier I would head to the grocery store without a list and just grab what I wanted or craved. Now I make a list of what I need and I don’t get anything not on the list. I go to Pinterest and find healthy recipes and then make a list of the ingredients I need.  I know, you could still go, and still buy the junk, but for many people having a list and having is visual can go a long way. Another trick to sticking to the list. Only bring enough cash to buy the items on your list. That will definitely keep you in check at the grocery store.

It’s easy to say, these aren’t “simple” or these are obvious, but until you actually try them and give it a chance you won’t see the results. These are all things that helped me along my journey. Maybe they won’t all help you but even if one does, I’d say that’s a win.

Lindsay

15193589_10103762317053430_5565398467060117790_n
Thank you Pinterest!
n
Thank you Pinterest!

 

Leave a Reply

